Certification Requirements

To be a CISSP, ISC2 requires a minimum of five years of full-time security work in two or more of the 10 domains of the CBK.

One year of professional experience may be waived with appropriate documentation:

One year waiver based on education
A maximum of one year may be waived off of the five year professional experience minimum requirement if you have a four-year college degree or Advanced Degree in information security from a U.S. National Center of Academic Excellence in information Security or regional equivalent.


One year waiver for holding an additional credential on a ISC2 approved list
By holding a certification that is in good standing from the ISC2 approved list, you are eligible to waive a year off of the minimum requirement.

The following certificates are approved to waive one year off the requirement:

CAP – Certified Authorization Professional 
CBCP – Certified Business Continuity Professional
CCCI – Certified Computer Crime Investigator 
CCCP – Certified Computer Crime Prosecutor
CCE – Certified Computer Examiner 
CCNP Security (Cisco Certified Network Professional Security) 
CCSP – Cisco Certified Security Professional
CFCE – Certified Forensic Computer Examiner 
CFE – Certified Fraud Examiner 
CIA – Certified Internal Auditor 
CISA – Certified Information Systems Auditor 
CISM – Certified Information Security Manager 
CIW – Security Analyst
CIW Web Security Associate
CIW Web Security Professional
CIW Web Security Specialist
CompTIA Security+
CPP – Certified Protection Professional 
CSFA – CyberSecurity Forensic Analyst
CSIH – CERT Certified Computer Security Incident Handler 
CSSLP – Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional
CWSP – Certified Wireless Security Professional 
GCED – GIAC Certified Enterprise Defender 
GCFA – GIAC Certified Forensic Analyst 
GCFE – GIAC Certified Forensics Examiner 
GCFW – GIAC Certified Firewall Analyst 
GCIA – GIAC Certified Intrusion Analyst 
GCIH – GIAC Certified Incident Handler 
GCUX – GIAC Certified UNIX Security Administrator 
GCWN – GIAC Certified Windows Security Administrator 
GIAC ISO 2700 Specialist (62700)
GISF – GIAC Information Security Fundamentals 
GISP – GIAC Information Security Professional 
GPEN – Certified Penetration Tester 
GSEC – GIAC Security Essentials Certification 
GSLC – GIAC Security Leadership Certification 
GSNA – GIAC Systems and Network Auditor 
IRCA – Information Security Management Systems Lead Auditor 
IRCA – Information Security Management Systems Principal Auditor 
MBCP – Master Business Continuity Professional 
MCITP Microsoft Certified IT Professional
MCSA – Microsoft Certified Server Administrator 
MCSE – Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer 
SSCP – Systems Security Certified Practitioner 

Prepare for the CISSP Exam

Luckily, there are a number of good books that can help you prepare for the CISSP exam.

Official CISSP Study Book
Official (ISC)2 Guide to the CISSP CBK, Third Edition ((ISC)2 Press)
CISSP All in One Exam Guide - Shon Harris
CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, 6th Edition
CISSP Study Guide 2nd Edition
Official (ISC)2 Guide to the CISSP CBK, Third Edition ((ISC)2 Press)
This is the official guide to the CISSP Exam. It was recently released on March 15, 2013. This is the third edition of the guide This is the 2nd most populat guide. It is a comprehensive guide written by Shon Harris. Shon Harris is a popular teacher of the CISSP exam. Many have found her book as well as some videos she has created to be easy to understand. This is a study guide to complement the official CISSP study guide. Many have found this useful since it does not have as much content as the official guide but instead focuses more on particular important security points with each of the 10 CBK (Common Body of Knowledge) domains



CISSP Exam Information, Dates, and Test Schedule